Well, I guess I’m really doing this

And what’s that you ask?  You can read this post on my other blog to get started.  That is, if you’re interested.  But since you’re here, you might as well find out about this project.  Sit down.  Relax for a minute.

Okay, here’s the deal. I’m going on a spiritual quest over the next year to find my religion.  I’m going to explore one religion a month by reading text, attending services and seeing what happens.  And I’m not limiting it to Christianity.  At the end of the year, I’ll pick one.  Kinda like the bachelorette on TV, but different.

 

Why am I doing this?  Well, for one, I’ve spent the last couple of years exploring death.  What I found is that religion and spirituality went hand in hand with death.  There’s the obvious question of what happens after I die, as well as someone’s faith giving them comfort in their last days of life.

I wasn’t raised with religion.  Yes, we went to church on occasion, but it wasn’t a regular part of my upbringing.  And I kind of want that.  I want to feel a part of something larger than myself.  I want to know what faith is.

I recently joined a Bible study group to see what that’s about.  We’re working from a book called The Frazzled Female.  I started talking with another PTA mom on field day and she mentioned her church and this Bible study group.  I saw her post on Facebook that a new group was forming, so I just took the ball and ran with it.  That’s how I roll.  If it comes up organically, then I’ll go.  I do have a plan, but I’m going to trust whomever that is running the show to put this stuff in my path.

Photo courtesy of J.T. O’Neill

At this point, I don’t have a regular idea of what I’m going to do on this blog.  Posts will be random at first, but hopefully I will have questions and maybe a few answers to discuss.  Thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Well, I guess I’m really doing this

  1. olbigjim says:

    I’m looking forward to following this new blog of yours. I’ve been on the same spiritual quest for many years now. Your experiences will be valuable to me. I think you’re going to like WordPress after you get used to it. I’ve a blog over on blogspot that I started back around 2006 or so that I’m thinking of moving here with my other new ones. Good luck with your quest and if you need help with WordPress, gimme a shout!

  2. JT O'Neill says:

    Hi Pamela! LOVE the photo — love the idea of this blog. And you are braver than I from the get go – Bible Study groups scare me. I have always been interested in the whole religion thing but since I tied up Catholicism in a square white box and tied it with a wide yellow ribbon and put it way up on the shelf in the closet of my mind, I have avoided it. Looking way forward to your observations.
    and I would like to learn more about WordPress. Why did you switch over and was it complicated?

    • I love that photo too. Good job! I don’t know if I’m brave, I’m just curious to see what all the fuss is about, if that makes any sense. As far as Word Press, I’m not terribly impressed yet, but maybe that’s because I’m used to the ways of Blogger. I just started the new blog on Word press to see what it was all about, which reminds me, I’ve got to link this blog to my website. If only I could remember how to do that. I am so technologically challenged, it’s not even funny.

      • JT O'Neill says:

        I thought I had already signed up and I think I thought I did – but then when I realized that I wasn’t getting any updates, I tried it again – Now I am like Flynn.

  3. This really does sounds interesting. I love that you’re examining things first-hand to see what’s what. What I’m wondering so far is, are you definitely going to “choose one?” A religion, I mean. I agree with the need for spiritual fulfillment and a sense of belonging, community, and purpose. Religion can certainly provide those things. But one doesn’t necessarily need religion to enjoy spirituality (or belonging, community, and purpose). I guess I say this because, for me, finding spiritual fulfillment began after I left any kind of religion. Giving up faith (which is defined, in the Bible at least, as belief without evidence) gave me room to explore, and I wound up feeling very much a part of a larger whole. Just a thought.

    I’ll definitely have to keep up on your journey here.

    • I definitely consider myself as a spiritual person, but I think what I want is to be part of a community. I need connection with other people. Maybe I’m just lonely:)

      • I can see that. I guess I’d just have to see a really compelling reason to believe that being part of a community necessitated believing claims on little to no evidence.

        I’m sure I’m making my “way” sound dry and almost elitist, but I think maybe that’s because the beginning assumption in our culture tends to be that we need religion for community, that we need religious belief to be humble, that we need to accept a deity to be part of something bigger than ourselves. I’d bet there are groups right now in your community that would make you realize you already are a part of something larger, and you already do have all the qualities perfect for belonging in a community. And they aren’t necessarily religious. That’s all I meant.

        Then again, maybe your favorite one will be religious, which I’d totally support as well. I guess I’d just really like to see secular spirituality (for lack of a better term) get a fair shake too, so people know there’s another option. The universe is amazing. People are astounding in big and small ways every day. People’s problems are real, extreme, and immediate, and we can address them. Maybe I’m thinking too small, but being even a tiny part of all that, when you really think about it, is astounding. Really, the small communities in my life, the one-on-one relationships, are the most spiritual things I know. There is nothing spiritual to be had for me in faith claims, because they simply don’t manifest in reality. Reality is pretty overwhelmingly spiritual as it is.

  4. I hear what you’re saying, but I want to make a decision based on experience. Kind of like I didn’t know where I stood on the death penalty until I actually met a person that was going to die. I just want to explore. At the end I may not pick one. I have no idea.

  5. elizabethtwist says:

    Just jumping on board the new blog train here. This is an exciting project. I love the open-minded skepticism you’re using to approach this. I spent a year or so attending a local church to see if my spirituality could be adequately expressed via organized Christianity. The answer was no, but pretty close. (I ultimately found the exclusivity clause in Christian practice to be too limiting.) The experience opened my mind in a whole bunch of ways.

Leave a Reply

