It’s a Good Friday

The only people in my family who I would consider religious would be my mom and my brother Brad.  My mom has read the Bible, knows hymns and can quote scripture but I didn’t know this about her until I started writing about this here journey.  Church wasn’t really forced on me growing up.  She was more concerned that I was nice to other people—the Golden rule and all that. My mom kept her beliefs on the down low and just lived them without making anything of it or doing it in an official building.  At the age of 78, she was hired as a hostess at an Olive Garden.  She is not your typical person.  She makes you feel happy by just being around her.

Anyway…

At my last Bible study the ladies talked about praise and worship.  Basically it boiled down to letting God know how great he/she was.  It could be singing an old school hymn or singing one of those new fangled Christian rock songs with your arms in the air, sans lighter. But I can’t help but wonder, doesn’t God already know what we think of him?  Why do we have to make a show of it?  I am reminded of a little prayer I used to say at dinner and I have no idea how I got this prayer but it was short and it didn’t rhyme, “God is great, God is good, thank you for this food, Amen.”

Did that count?

In my brother’s eyes it didn’t.  He found God while serving time in prison and when he got out, he decided that he wasn’t one of God’s chosen peeps.  He believes that God chooses you, not the other way around.  When my brother was a Christian, we used to argue a lot. After every phone call with him, I’d be mad because he tried to make me feel wrong or less than or that I was destined to spend all of eternity in H E double hockey sticks.  If “Love thy brother,” was one of the main tenets of Christianity, I knew I was going to have a hard time with it.  We still argue.  Heck, he doesn’t want to read this blog because he said I’m already attending a “false church,” whatever that means.

I said it might be interesting for him to follow my journey.  I’m not going to have any answers, but I might find some interesting questions along the way.  Still a no go, unless he’s lurking.  If so, hi Brad.  It’s okay to post on here if you’re nice.

Speaking of nice, one of the nicest men I’ve ever met ministers to men on death row.  He knows that a lot of the people he meets with are using him to get out of their cell, but he does it anyway.  The man is kind, he treats people with respect, and he shows up, which is more than I can say for most people I come across in my daily dealings.

In the last week, I’ve heard conversations in which different religions were put down: Pentacostals, Jehovah’s Witness People, Scientologists, Buddhists (which isn’t a religion, but a spiritual practice), and Catholics.  I have no insight on this, but I want to report it.  Happy Friday!  Have a great weekend.

 

Oh, you know it’s funny.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s a Good Friday

  1. Paula says:

    Love your new BLOG Pammy Jo. I look forward to your insights each day.

  2. Very insightful post, Pamela. Your mother sounds like someone I would have loved to be around…like my mom…spiritual in her own way, but not religious. 🙂

  3. Betsy Cross says:

    I picture God saying, “Get on with it! Stop singing and get out there and be my hands to lift and to serve the hungry, the downtrodden, etc” That’s how our love for Him shows up….serving His children as He would. Just a thought! 🙂

  4. Many, if not most, religions see God as transcendent/supernatural, and I think to understand the “Abrahamic” religions it’s essential not to anthropomorphize God, not to see Him as a big man in the sky of whom you’d have the same expectations you would of the guy next door. If God requires our worship, maybe it’s as much about us as it is about Him. God doesn’t need our praise, but we need to acknowledge His sovereignty in order to follow His path (whichever path it is).

    Any spiritual endeavor ultimately requires acceptance of mystery, whether it’s the power of a deity or the strength of a concept like karma.

    • Ruth, what you just said went way over my head. You need to talk to me like I’m in kindergarten:) I’m totally not kidding.

      • lol, sorry. Maybe I am getting too deep…

        If I understand your journey correctly (maybe I don’t!), you are exploring how specific religions would answer questions like the one you posed here: why would we actively praise God?

        The Baptists in the bible study you’ve been attending believe God wants to hear us say He’s great, and they say it through music. I guess I’m curious to know what you feel about that and what your expectations are for the next faith tradition you are studying.

      • I’ll pretty much be asking the same kind of stuff everywhere I go. I’m just dipping my toe in the pool.

Leave a Reply

